• Next event

    2023/FEB/17 · 08:00 PM
    Herkuslessaal - Munich, Germany

    learn more

  • Samuel Seungwon Lee

    Samuel Seungwon Lee


    Year of birth:

    Place of birth:
    Seoul, Republic of Korea


    • Viola Diploma – Berlin – Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ – Tabea Zimmermann – (2007-2011)
    • Viola Konzertexamen – Berlin – Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ – Tabea Zimmermann – (2011-2013)
    • Orchestral Conducting BA – Berlin – Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ – Christian Ehwald – (2014-2016)
    • Orchestral Conducting MA – Berlin – Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ – Christian Ehwald – (2016-2018)
    • Orchestral Conducting Konzertexamen – Hamburg – Hochschule für Musik und Theater – Ulrich Windfuhr – (2019-2021)

    Current job:
    Viola Hauptfach Lehrbeauftragter at Hochschule für Musik und Theater „Mendelssohn Bartholdy“ Leipzig,
    Conductor at C.P.E.Bach Musikgymnasium Berlin



    Samuel Seungwon Lee, born in Seoul / South Korea in 1990, received his first violin and piano lessons at the age of four, and at the age of ten the first viola lessons with Prof. Myung Hee Cho. In 2007 he started his viola studies with Prof. Tabea Zimmermann and orchestral conducting with Prof. Christian Ehwald at the Hochschule für Musik ”Hanns Eisler” Berlin.

    As violist he attended masterclasses from renowned musicians such as Yuri Bashmet, Nobuko Imai, Tatjana Masurenko, Roberto Diaz, Hartmut Rohde.

    He won the 1st Prize at the Anton Rubinstein International Competition, Michael Spisak International Competition and he is a prizewinner at the Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition, Max Rostal International Competition.

    Since 2009, Seungwon Lee has been a member of the Novus String Quartet, where they received lessons under Prof. Christoph Poppen and Prof. Hariolf Schlichtig at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater München. The Novus String Quartet has won 2nd prize at the 61st International music competition of ARD Munich and in 2014, 1st prize at the Salzburg International Mozart Competition.

    As a soloist, Seungwon Lee has performed with the Baden-baden Philharmonic Orchestra, the Munich Chamber Orchestra, the Southern German Philharmonic Orchestra, the Zabrze Philharmonic Orchestra, the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, the KBS Symphony Orchestra, the Korean Symphony Orchestra and at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Music Festival.

    As a conductor, Samuel Seungwon Lee conducted the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Hamburger Symphoniker, Stuttgarter Philharmoniker, Staatsorchester Frankfurt Oder, Brandenburg Symphoniker, Bucharest Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra.

    Samuel Lee won the 1st prize at the BMI International conducting competition in Bucharest and at the International Conducting Competition in Taipei. He was selected as an active participant where he received conducting masterclasses by maestros such as Riccardo Muti, Daniele Gatti, Markus Stenz. He assisted Vladimir Jurowski for a concert with London Philharmonic Orchestra at Seoul Arts Center.

    Since 2016, he has been the orchestra conductor of the Orchestra in the C.P.E.Bach Musikgymnasium Berlin and teaches viola at Hochschule für Musik und Theater “Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy” in Leipzig as a “Lehrbeauftragter”.

    He was invited for a project with maestro Riccardo Muti where he conducts Rigoletto by Verdi, which is organised by Tokyo Spring Festival.

    Micha Afkham

    Guy Ben-Ziony

    Agathe Blondel

    Barbara Buntrock

    Öykü Canpolat

    Hélène Clément

    Karolina Errera

    Stefanie Farrands

    Olga Hansen

    Stine Hasbirk

    Gabriele Heinecke

    Simone Jandl

    Kyuri Kim

    Sejune Kim

    Georgy Kovalev

    Anna Krimm

    Hande Küden

    S. Seungwon Lee

    Marion Leleu

    Anna Lewis

    Matthew Lipman

    Lev Loiko

    Ana Mba-Flores

    Ada Myriel Meinich

    Giovanni Menna

    Sindy Mohamed

    Nilay Özdemir

    Kyoungmin Park

    Tahlia Petrosian

    Anna Puig Torne

    Madeleine Przybyl

    Muriel Razavi

    Alejandro Regueira

    Pauline Sachse

    Teresa Schwamm

    Antoine Tamestit

    German Tcakulov

    Kei Tojo

    Ulla Tremuth

    Albin Uusijärvi

    Judith Wijzenbeek

    Zhechao Xie

    Peijun Xu

    Ula U. Zebriunaite

    Alexander Zemtsov

    Sarina Zickgraf

    Silas Zschocke