• Next event

    2024/APR/27 · 08:00 PM
    Nikolaisaal - Potsdam, Germany

  • Nicholas Swensen


    Nicholas Swensen has distinguished himself as a musician on both sides of the Atlantic and as both an instrumentalist and conductor. As winner of the Juilliard Viola Competition in 2021, he was the soloist in a performance of William Walton’s Viola Concerto conducted by Sir Antonio Pappano at Lincoln Center in New York. He has taken major prizes at viola competitions in Los Angeles (Primrose Viola Competition 2021) Prague (Oskar Nedbal International Viola Competition 2020) and Berlin (Max Rostal international viola competition 2019).

    From October 2023 he is a part of the Kronberg Academy Professional Studies under the guidance of renowned violist Tabea Zimmermann.

    In his native Denmark, he has also won several youth competitions as well as received the Léonie Sonning Talent Prize, the Jacob Gade Scholarship, the Van Hauen Scholarship and the Honorary Award of the Wilhelm Hansen Foundation.

    Apart from The Julliard Orchestra, Nicholas has appeared as a soloist with Odense Symphony Orchestra, The Colburn Orchestra (Los Angeles) and several other. He has played chamber music with luminaries including Sir András Schiff, Gidon Kremer, Christian Tetzlaff and Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider and has appeared as a guest with chamber ensembles such as the Danish String Quartet and Trio Con Brio Copenhagen. Passionate to chamber music, Nicholas has taken part in world renowned festivals including Ravinia Festival, Kronberg Academy’s Chamber Music Connects the World, Accademia Isola Classica, Eggenfelden Klassisch, Radebeul Musikfestival, Oberstdorfer Musiksommer, Music@Menlo as well as all of the most prominent Danish chamber music festivals. Since 2022 he himself has taken over the Artistic Directorship of the Oremandsgaard Chamber Music Festival in Denmark.

    In 2021 Nicholas was awarded the annual talent prize of public broadcaster DR’s P2 radio station, whose citation noted his ‘strong artistic personality’ and his ‘holistic view of music and enriching perspective on it.’ This perspective drives him to work increasingly as a conductor in which capacity he has been a student of Jorma Panula in Helsinki and took benefit from the guidance of Fabio Luisi at the Malko Conducting Academy in Copenhagen. He made his podium debut with the Lyngby-Taarbæk Symphony Orchestra, has conducted the Danish National Vocal Ensemble and been resident conductor for Festival and Friends in Copenhagen.
    Nicholas holds a Master’s Degree from The Juilliard School, as a member of the prestigious Kovner Fellowship, studying with Heidi Castleman and Misha Amory. Previously he studied viola with Barbara Westphal in Lübeck and with Lars Anders Tomter and Asbjørn Nørgaard in Copenhagen.

    He plays an Amati viola from 1616 on loan from Anders Sveaas’s Charitable Foundation.


    Jelena Antić

    Maj Bommas

    Bella Chich

    Ukyo Fujiwara

    Franziska Hügel

    Brian Isaacs

    Arcan Isenkul

    Sophie Kiening

    Gordon Lau

    Sào Soulez Larivière

    Haesue Lee

    Natalie Loughran

    Eric Seohyun Moon

    Nicholas Swensen

    Ayaka Taniguchi

    Caspar Vinzens

    Luisa Ye


    Micha Afkham

    Guy Ben-Ziony

    Agathe Blondel

    Barbara Buntrock

    Öykü Canpolat

    Marie Chilemme

    Hélène Clément

    Toby Cook

    Lotus de Vries

    Valentin Eichler

    Miguel Erlich

    Karolina Errera Pavon

    Stefanie Farrands

    Sara Ferrandez Castro

    Alexander Gordon

    Olga Hansen

    Stine Hasbirk

    Gabriele Heinecke

    Miriam Helms Alien

    Kyuri Kim

    Sejune Kim

    Georgy Kovalev

    Anna Krimm

    Hande Küden

    Josip Kvetek

    Adrien la Marca

    S. Seungwon Lee

    Marion Leleu

    Anna Lewis

    Matthew Lipman

    Mark Liu

    Lev Loiko

    Ana Mba-Flores

    Ada Myriel Meinich

    Giovanni Menna

    Johannes Moehrle

    Sindy Mohamed

    Nilay Özdemir

    Kyoungmin Park

    Yael Patish

    Tahlia Petrosian

    Anna Puig Torne

    Madeleine Przybyl

    Muriel Razavi

    Alejandro Regueira

    Pauline Sachse

    Teresa Schwamm

    Jungahn Shin

    Clara-Hélène Stangorra

    Arnold Stieve

    Maya Tal

    Antoine Tamestit

    German Tcakulov

    Kei Tojo

    Ulla Tremuth

    Albin Uusijärvi

    Simone von Rahden

    Emma Wernig

    Judith Wijzenbeek

    Zhechao Xie

    Peijun Xu

    Armando Yagüe

    Ula U. Zebriunaite

    Sarina Zickgraf

    Ylvali Zilliacus

    Silas Zschocke