• Next event

    2024/JUL/29 · 10:00 AM
    Accademia Musicale Chigiana - Siena, Italy

  • Toby Cook

    Toby Cook


    Year of birth:

    Place of birth:
    London, England


    • Viola BA – London – Royal Academy of Music, Juan-Miguel Hernandez – (2015-2019)
    • Viola MA – Berlin: Hochschule für Musik „ Hanns Eisler“, Tabea Zimmermann – (2019- 2022)




    Toby Cook regularly performs in venues across Europe, recently including solo performances at the Santander and Tibor Varga music festivals, and was a semi-finalist in the 2019 Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition, receiving the Barbirolli prize.

    A regular participant in masterclasses and workshops, Toby attended the Prussia Cove Seminar in 2019 under Thomas Riebl, and has received classes from Nils Mönkemeyer, Pekka Kuusisto and Máté Szücs amongst others. He has also had the opportunity to collaborate with numerous composers on developing works, working with Garth Knox on his new technical studies and with composer Thomas Jones on his concerto Day and Night.

    An avid chamber musician, Toby plays in a number of ensembles and twice had the opportunity to perform with clarinetist Matthew Hunt and musicians from the Berlin Philharmonic at Hellens Music festival, as well as Schumann’s Piano Quintet with Claudio Mehner at the Palacio de Festivales in Santander and performing as part of the ‘Music of Exile’ festival in Toronto and London with Rebanks fellowship musicians of the Royal Conservatory of Canada and members of the ARC ensemble.

    As an orchestral musician, Toby has played under numerous acclaimed conductors such as Manfred Honeck and Gianandrea Noseda, and was a member of the European Union Youth Orchestra 2018, appearing on numerous radio and television broadcasts including the BBC proms.

    Toby is passionate about teaching and coaches violin, viola and chamber ensembles and assists on the Arpeggione viola course alongside regular 1:1 teaching. He is also a member of the European String Teachers’ Association, with whom he performed at conferences at the European Parliament in Strasbourg, and in Valletta, Europe’s cultural capital in 2018.



    Jelena Antić

    Maj Bommas

    Bella Chich

    Ukyo Fujiwara

    Franziska Hügel

    Brian Isaacs

    Arcan Isenkul

    Sophie Kiening

    Gordon Lau

    Sào Soulez Larivière

    Haesue Lee

    Natalie Loughran

    Eric Seohyun Moon

    Nicholas Swensen

    Ayaka Taniguchi

    Caspar Vinzens

    Luisa Ye


    Micha Afkham

    Guy Ben-Ziony

    Agathe Blondel

    Barbara Buntrock

    Öykü Canpolat

    Marie Chilemme

    Hélène Clément

    Toby Cook

    Lotus de Vries

    Valentin Eichler

    Miguel Erlich

    Karolina Errera Pavon

    Stefanie Farrands

    Sara Ferrandez Castro

    Alexander Gordon

    Olga Hansen

    Stine Hasbirk

    Gabriele Heinecke

    Miriam Helms Alien

    Kyuri Kim

    Sejune Kim

    Georgy Kovalev

    Anna Krimm

    Hande Küden

    Josip Kvetek

    Adrien la Marca

    S. Seungwon Lee

    Marion Leleu

    Anna Lewis

    Matthew Lipman

    Mark Liu

    Lev Loiko

    Ana Mba-Flores

    Ada Myriel Meinich

    Giovanni Menna

    Johannes Moehrle

    Sindy Mohamed

    Nilay Özdemir

    Kyoungmin Park

    Yael Patish

    Tahlia Petrosian

    Anna Puig Torne

    Madeleine Przybyl

    Muriel Razavi

    Alejandro Regueira

    Pauline Sachse

    Teresa Schwamm

    Jungahn Shin

    Clara-Hélène Stangorra

    Arnold Stieve

    Maya Tal

    Antoine Tamestit

    German Tcakulov

    Kei Tojo

    Ulla Tremuth

    Albin Uusijärvi

    Simone von Rahden

    Emma Wernig

    Judith Wijzenbeek

    Zhechao Xie

    Peijun Xu

    Armando Yagüe

    Ula U. Zebriunaite

    Sarina Zickgraf

    Ylvali Zilliacus

    Silas Zschocke