• Nächstes Event

    2024/JUL/03 · 20:00 Uhr
    Haifa Auditorium
    Haifa, Israel

  • Sara Ferrández Castro

    Sara Ferrández
    ©Clara Evens


    Year of birth:

    Place of birth:
    Madrid, Spain


    • Viola – Madrid: Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía (2008-2013)
    • Viola BA of Music– Berlin: Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“, Tabea Zimmermann (2013-2018)
    • Viola MA of Music – Berlin: Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“, Tabea Zimmermann (2018-2020)
    • Karajan Academy der Berliner Philharmoniker (2020-2022)
    • Professional Studies Kronberg Academy, Nobuko Imai (since 2021)

    Current job:



    Angela Lorenzo:


    Widely acclaimed for her warm, effortless and impeccable sound, Sara Ferrández is fast emerging as one of the most exciting violists of her generation. Despite her youth Sara has already performed in some of the major concert halls around the globe, including Berlin Philharmonie, Elbphilharmonie,Victoria Hall, L’Auditori in Barcelona or Salzburg Festspielhaus.

    Recent and forthcoming highlights include her debut with the Spanish National Symphony Orchestra (Julio García Vico) and Orquesta de Extremadura (Andrés Salado), as well as her collaboration with the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (Cristian Macelaru), Orquesta Sinfónica del Principado de Asturias (Lina González Granados) and Orquesta Sinfónica RTVE (Chloé van Soeterstède). This season will mark the start of a very exciting and inspiring partnership with the Orquesta del Principado de Asturias as their new Artistic Collaborator. 2023 also sees the release of Sara’s first EP: “En La Intimidad”, where she explores one of Bach’s greatest works, the Suite No.1 in G major.

    Chamber music has always held a special place in Ferrández’s musical life. She is frequently invited to play in several international festivals, including Verbier Festival, Classiche Forme, Arezzo Festival, Utrecht Chamber Music Festival or Sion Festival, where she has the pleasure of collaborating with highly esteemed artists such as Janine Jansen, Beatrice Rana, Amihai Grosz, Pablo Ferrández, Vilde Frang, Kian Soltani or Daishin Kashimoto, amongst others.

    Sara is a former member of the Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic (2019-2022), and she regularly performs with members of the orchestra. She’s also part of the West Eastern Divan Orchestra under the direction of Maestro Daniel Barenboim and she has collaborated on several occasions with the ensemble “Mutter’s Virtuosi”, performing alongside world-class violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter.

    Born in Madrid in 1995, Sara grew up in a family of musicians, and started playing viola at 3 years-old before attending the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofia in Madrid aged 13. She continued her studies in the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler, under internationally renowned violist Tabea Zimmermann, where she obtained both her Bachelor and Master degree. Currently, Sara is enjoying her time as a student at the Kronberg Academy, studying with Professor Nobuko Imai.

    Sara plays on a David Tecchler viola (1730), the third of 3 Violas and a bow from Nicolas Léonard Tourte – both generously loaned by Stephan Jansen on behalf and as a member of the Stretton Society.


    Jelena Antić

    Maj Bommas

    Bella Chich

    Ukyo Fujiwara

    Franziska Hügel

    Brian Isaacs

    Arcan Isenkul

    Sophie Kiening

    Gordon Lau

    Sào Soulez Larivière

    Haesue Lee

    Natalie Loughran

    Eric Seohyun Moon

    Nicholas Swensen

    Ayaka Taniguchi

    Caspar Vinzens

    Luisa Ye


    Micha Afkham

    Guy Ben-Ziony

    Agathe Blondel

    Barbara Buntrock

    Öykü Canpolat

    Marie Chilemme

    Hélène Clément

    Toby Cook

    Lotus de Vries

    Valentin Eichler

    Miguel Erlich

    Karolina Errera Pavon

    Stefanie Farrands

    Sara Ferrandez Castro

    Alexander Gordon

    Olga Hansen

    Stine Hasbirk

    Gabriele Heinecke

    Miriam Helms Alien

    Kyuri Kim

    Sejune Kim

    Georgy Kovalev

    Anna Krimm

    Hande Küden

    Josip Kvetek

    Adrien la Marca

    S. Seungwon Lee

    Marion Leleu

    Anna Lewis

    Matthew Lipman

    Mark Liu

    Lev Loiko

    Ana Mba-Flores

    Ada Myriel Meinich

    Giovanni Menna

    Johannes Moehrle

    Sindy Mohamed

    Nilay Özdemir

    Kyoungmin Park

    Yael Patish

    Tahlia Petrosian

    Anna Puig Torne

    Madeleine Przybyl

    Muriel Razavi

    Alejandro Regueira

    Pauline Sachse

    Teresa Schwamm

    Jungahn Shin

    Clara-Hélène Stangorra

    Arnold Stieve

    Maya Tal

    Antoine Tamestit

    German Tcakulov

    Kei Tojo

    Ulla Tremuth

    Albin Uusijärvi

    Simone von Rahden

    Emma Wernig

    Judith Wijzenbeek

    Zhechao Xie

    Peijun Xu

    Armando Yagüe

    Ula U. Zebriunaite

    Sarina Zickgraf

    Ylvali Zilliacus

    Silas Zschocke