• Nächstes Event

    2024/JUL/29 · 10:00 Uhr
    Accademia Musicale Chigiana
    Siena, Italien

  • Stefanie Farrands

    Stefanie Farrands


    Year of birth:

    Place of birth:
    Melbourne, Australia


    • Viola Performance – Melbourne – Australian National Academy of Music – Alice Waten/ Roger Benedict – (2007-2008)
    • Viola BA  – Berlin – Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ – Tabea Zimmermann – (2010-2015)  

    Current job:
    Principal Viola Australian Chamber Orchestra



    Violist Stefanie Farrands is currently principal Violist with the Australian Chamber Orchestra. From 2015-2019 she was Principal Violist with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra. She has studied in Berlin with Tabea Zimmermann at the Hochschule für Musik, Hanns Eisler Berlin and prior to this was the recipient of the Georgina Grosvenor Scholarship studying at ANAM in Melbourne with Alice Waten and Roger Benedict.

    Stefanie has performed extensively throughout Europe, America, Asia and Australia both as a chamber musician and orchestral player, including playing regularly with some of the world’s most renowned orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Camerata Salzburg. She has also been Guest Principal Viola with the Strasbourg Philharmonic in France and Amsterdam Sinfonietta in the Netherlands and played regularly with Spira Mirabilis (Italy) and Le Concert Olympique (Belgium). In 2010 she was also invited to perform at the Aspen Music Festival in Colorado, USA.

    In Australia she has been Guest Principal Violist of the Australian World Orchestra, Guest Principal Violist of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and Sydney Symphony Orchestra. She has also played Principal Viola regularly with the Melbourne Chamber Orchestra. Stefanie has appeared as Soloist with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra (giving the Australian Premiere of Olga Neuwirth’s Viola Concerto in 2011), ACO Collective, Melbourne Chamber Orchestra, AYO Young Symphonists (Performing the World Premiere of Natalie Williams’ Viola Concerto) and the Orchestra of the Australian National Academy of Music. Stefanie is a passionate chamber musician and is the founding member of the Hamer Quartet which was successful in winning the Asia Pacific Chamber Music competition, taking the overall First Prize Tony Berg Award, 1st prize for String Quartet and the Audience Prize in 2009. They gave their debut to critical acclaim in 2007 and since then have toured both nationally and internationally and recorded their Debut album for Melba records.

    Stefanie has performed at many chamber music festivals in Australia and abroad including performing at the inaugural chamber music concert series ‘Concerts Sans Frontieres’ in Paris in 2018, Sanguine Estate Chamber Music Festival, Australian Festival of Chamber Music in Townsville, Norwich and Norfolk Chamber Music Festival, Daylesford Chamber Music Festival, Violatag/Hindemith Festival in Berlin, Mackay Chamber Music Festival, and was Artist in Residence at Monash University as a member of the Hamer Quartet. She was also a scholarship holder at the Villa Musica Chamber Music Academy in Germany and has collaborated with the Noga Quartet in Berlin. Commissioning new works for the Viola is of keen interest to Stefanie. In 2016 she was the winner of the Freedman Classic Fellowship from which she has commissioned numerous new works for the viola by some of Australia’s leading composers. She has premiered Douglas Weiland’s third string quartet with the Hamer Quartet as well as given premiers to numerous solo, chamber and orchestral works as well as workshops and masterclasses on writing for the viola. She has recorded both solo and chamber works for the ABC and is regularly featured of ABC Classic Fm and 3mbs, and has been a member of the String Faculty at the Conservatorium of music in Hobart. Stefanie play a 2016 Viola made by Berlin based luthier Ragnar Hayn.


    Jelena Antić

    Maj Bommas

    Bella Chich

    Ukyo Fujiwara

    Franziska Hügel

    Brian Isaacs

    Arcan Isenkul

    Sophie Kiening

    Gordon Lau

    Sào Soulez Larivière

    Haesue Lee

    Natalie Loughran

    Eric Seohyun Moon

    Nicholas Swensen

    Ayaka Taniguchi

    Caspar Vinzens

    Luisa Ye


    Micha Afkham

    Guy Ben-Ziony

    Agathe Blondel

    Barbara Buntrock

    Öykü Canpolat

    Marie Chilemme

    Hélène Clément

    Toby Cook

    Lotus de Vries

    Valentin Eichler

    Miguel Erlich

    Karolina Errera Pavon

    Stefanie Farrands

    Sara Ferrandez Castro

    Alexander Gordon

    Olga Hansen

    Stine Hasbirk

    Gabriele Heinecke

    Miriam Helms Alien

    Kyuri Kim

    Sejune Kim

    Georgy Kovalev

    Anna Krimm

    Hande Küden

    Josip Kvetek

    Adrien la Marca

    S. Seungwon Lee

    Marion Leleu

    Anna Lewis

    Matthew Lipman

    Mark Liu

    Lev Loiko

    Ana Mba-Flores

    Ada Myriel Meinich

    Giovanni Menna

    Johannes Moehrle

    Sindy Mohamed

    Nilay Özdemir

    Kyoungmin Park

    Yael Patish

    Tahlia Petrosian

    Anna Puig Torne

    Madeleine Przybyl

    Muriel Razavi

    Alejandro Regueira

    Pauline Sachse

    Teresa Schwamm

    Jungahn Shin

    Clara-Hélène Stangorra

    Arnold Stieve

    Maya Tal

    Antoine Tamestit

    German Tcakulov

    Kei Tojo

    Ulla Tremuth

    Albin Uusijärvi

    Simone von Rahden

    Emma Wernig

    Judith Wijzenbeek

    Zhechao Xie

    Peijun Xu

    Armando Yagüe

    Ula U. Zebriunaite

    Sarina Zickgraf

    Ylvali Zilliacus

    Silas Zschocke